The Rocket Woodstove Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Rocket Woodstove Forum

Woodstove development using rocketstove technology

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Hello from N.Z.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
old engineer

Hello from N.Z. Empty
PostSubject: Hello from N.Z.   Hello from N.Z. EmptySun Jul 19, 2015 10:14 am

Kia ora gentle people,

After several attempts I have joined this forum and hope to pick contributors’' brains and maybe contribute a thought or two from my work and private experience.

I stumbled on R.S. via the Stumble Upon website for alternative energy.

I am an engineer trained by apprenticeship not University. I spent the last ten years of my employed working life managing the mechanical facilities of a small military training camp. My interest in combustion has involved coal, oil and biomass.

From time to time, since the 1970s, burning wood for domestic heating has taken up too much unprofitable time but provided much interest. The Whole Earth catalogue introduced me to the Scandinavian type two-chamber burners, but I have come to think that batch loaded burners of this type are not the best design.

A design by Ian Cave, who was a scientist with a N.Z. government research department, was shown to the public in about 1975, this was a proper two chamber burner with a vertical fire box & a closely connected highly insulated secondary burn chamber. Twelve years ago I was involved in building a burner to Ian Cave’s design at the University of Canterbury. This project was supervised by a friend Ian Gilmour, a senior lecturer at UC he had a long history of research in combustion devices. This burner now sits in my yard waiting for me to some more work on it and hook up to my hydronic heating system. This work has been delayed by earthquake damage repairs to our house.