The Rocket Woodstove Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Rocket Woodstove Forum

Woodstove development using rocketstove technology

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

TLUD wood heater

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Tim Keith

TLUD wood heater Empty
PostSubject: TLUD wood heater   TLUD wood heater EmptySun May 25, 2014 1:42 pm

I've began reading about TLUD, supposed to be very clean burning. Many of the TLUD stoves are operated without an external chimney, not that I'd attempt to do that. Many the TLUD wood heaters are actually cooking stoves. I'm looking for a heating design that is suited for biomass such as the mountain of wood chips that we have locally. The TLUD seems to fit the parameters for that. I've been reading some of the work of Paul Anderson and have to pause to soak it in. I'm very new at this, but the TLUD look doable for me. The TLUD produces charcoal that has to be manually removed and I couldn't automate the feeding of the wood chips but it looks like a fun test heater for wood chips. In some countries these cost less than $30 US dollars, so I think its a reasonable project for me.

In another post I mentioned the potential of spent brewery grain as a fuel. The TLUD converts carbohydrates to clean burning gas, with much of the carbon converted to charcoal, which is often used to enrich the soil (or burn it in a rocket heater). All sorts of biomass can be efficiently used in the TLUD designs, so it is claimed, with less soot and ash than conventional wood stoves.